You can't predict, but you can prepare.

Forsyth County Multi-Jurisdictional Hazard Mitigation Plan – now available online

In June of 2001, the North Carolina General Assembly passed Senate Bill 300, an Act to amend the laws regarding emergency management, disaster recovery and mitigation funds. Among other provisions, this bill requires that local governments have a state approved hazard mitigation plan in order to receive state public assistance funds (effective for state-declared disasters following November 1, 2004).

In October of 2000, the President of the United States signed into law the Disaster Mitigation Act of 2000 (Public Law 106-390) to amend the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act of 1988. This new legislation reinforces the importance of pre-disaster mitigation planning, establishing a requirement that local governments adopt a mitigation plan in order to be eligible for hazard mitigation funding.

Both Senate Bill 300 and the Disaster Mitigation Act of 2000 set forth certain requirements for local governments to have an approved hazard mitigation plan. For multi-jurisdictional plans, FEMA’s Interim Rule requires that the plan documents how each of the jurisdictions participated in the planning process and describes the steps they took to involve the public in the planning process.

The purpose of the Hazard Mitigation Plan is:

1. To demonstrate local commitment to hazard mitigation planning principles;

2. To reduce natural hazard vulnerability by reducing the potential for future damages and economic losses;

3. To speed recovery and redevelopment following future natural hazard events;

4. To comply with both State and Federal legislative requirements for local hazard mitigation planning; and

5. To qualify for additional grant funding, in both pre-disaster and post-disaster situations.

The plan must be regularly updated, reviewed and adopted by all the jurisdictions in Forsyth County; the jurisdictions include: Bethania, Clemmons, Kernersville, Lewisville, Rural Hall, Tobaccoville, Walkertown, Winston-Salem and the Unincorporated areas of Forsyth County. The plan is maintained by the Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Office of Emergency Management.

PLEASE NOTE: The plan listed below has been updated. You may review the new plan HERE.

Forsyth County Multi-Jurisdictional Hazard Mitigation Plan

***Note: For security reasons, tables and maps were intentionally excluded from Appendix B.***

Title Page

Table of Contents

Section I

Section II

Section III

Section IV

Appendix A

Appendix B

Appendix C

Appendix D

Appendix E


2011 Hazard Mitigation Plan Progress Report_Sept2011

2012_2013 Hazard Mitigation Plan Progress Report_Sept2013  Table format: Table II-2 2013 Update

2014 Hazard Mitigation Plan Progress Report

For more information concerning the Hazard Mitigation Plan, please contact the Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Office of Emergency Management at 336.661.6440

468 ad