You can't predict, but you can prepare.

Hazard Mitigation Planning & the Current Regional Plan

Hazard Mitigation Planning & the Current Regional Plan

Nov 6, 2015

Cover page

Our hazard mitigation planning process reduces risks and helps prepare our communities for all types of hazards. This detailed planning makes counties more sustainable and more resilient to various emergencies and disasters, such as winter storms, severe thunderstorms, tornadoes, flooding, droughts, wildfires, tropical storms, etc. Seven counties (Forsyth, Davie, Surry, Yadkin, Stokes, Rockingham & Caswell), which include 37 jurisdictions, have been working together to produce a regional Hazard Mitigation Plan. This regional mitigation plan was approved by FEMA in September of 2015.

The Forsyth County portion of the plan must be regularly updated, reviewed and adopted by all the jurisdictions in Forsyth County; the jurisdictions include: Bethania, Clemmons, Kernersville, Lewisville, Rural Hall, Tobaccoville, Walkertown, Winston-Salem and the Unincorporated areas of Forsyth County. The Forsyth County portion of this plan is maintained by the Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Office of Emergency Management.

Because of the large file size of the complete plan document, it has been divided into 3 parts: The General Plan, Forsyth’s Annex (C), and the Appendices. Note: Other county annexes are not included.

Northern Piedmont Hazard Mitigation Plan_General Plan

Forsyth County_Annex C_Northern Piedmont Hazard Mitigation Plan

Northern Piedmont Hazard Mitigation Plan_Appendices

A Short History About Mitigation Planning

In June of 2001, the North Carolina General Assembly passed Senate Bill 300, an Act to amend the laws regarding emergency management, disaster recovery and mitigation funds. Among other provisions, this bill requires that local governments have a state approved hazard mitigation plan in order to receive state public assistance funds (effective for state-declared disasters following November 1, 2004).

In October of 2000, the President of the United States signed into law the Disaster Mitigation Act of 2000 (Public Law 106-390) to amend the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act of 1988. This new legislation reinforces the importance of pre-disaster mitigation planning, establishing a requirement that local governments adopt a mitigation plan in order to be eligible for hazard mitigation funding.

Both Senate Bill 300 and the Disaster Mitigation Act of 2000 set forth certain requirements for local governments to have an approved hazard mitigation plan. For multi-jurisdictional plans, FEMA’s Interim Rule requires that the plan documents how each of the jurisdictions participated in the planning process and describes the steps they took to involve the public in the planning process.

The purpose of a Hazard Mitigation Plan is:

1. To demonstrate local commitment to hazard mitigation planning principles;

2. To reduce natural hazard vulnerability by reducing the potential for future damages and economic losses;

3. To speed recovery and redevelopment following future natural hazard events;

4. To comply with both State and Federal legislative requirements for local hazard mitigation planning; and

5. To qualify for additional grant funding, in both pre-disaster and post-disaster situations.


Other Historical Documents related to Forsyth County’s mitigation planning process:

Forsyth County 2010 Multi-Jurisdictional Hazard Mitigation Plan can be found HERE

2011 Hazard Mitigation Plan Progress Report_Sept2011

2012_2013 Hazard Mitigation Plan Progress Report_Sept2013  Table format: Table II-2 2013 Update

2014 Hazard Mitigation Plan Progress Report

For more information concerning the Hazard Mitigation Plan, please contact the Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Office of Emergency Management at 336.661.6440

468 ad

Leave a Reply